National Academy of Sciences (NAS)

About the Academy

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the advancement of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare. Academy membership is composed of approximately 2,200 members and 400 foreign associates, of whom nearly 200 have won Nobel Prizes. Members and foreign associates of the Academy are elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a scientist or engineer.


Faculty Name Related Stories


2014 James Estes
2014 Thorne Lay
2010 Gary Glatzmaier
2008 Claire Max


David Haussler

2006 Stanford Woosley
1996 Jerry Nelson
1992 Harry Noller


Sandra Faber

1972 Frank Drake
1967 Robert Sinsheimer

Biography - Robert Sinsheimer

1965 Terrell Hill

Biography - Terrell Hill


2007 Robert Edgar

In Memoriam: Robert S. Edgar (1930-2016)

2005 Marcia McNutt

McNutt to be nominated as director of U.S. Geological Survey

1986 Richard Musgrave

Renowned pioneer of public finance

1971 Robert Kraft

Robert P. Kraft, eminent astronomer and former director of UC Observatories, dies at age 87

1969 Harry Beevers

Eminent plant physiologist 

1966 Donald Osterbrock

Eminent astronomer and former director of Lick Observatory 

1964 George Herbig

George H. Herbig (1920-2013)

1964 Aaron C. Waters

Waters Award for Graduate Students

1954 Albert Whitford

Eminent astronomer and former director of Lick Observatory

1953 George Hammond

In Memoriam: George S. Hammond

1948 Kenneth V. Thimann

Kenneth V. Thimann, founding provost of Crown College

gl 4/16