Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor talk will address the history of African American studies

On Wednesday, May 24 at 7:30pm, engaging education (e2) is honored to bring Professor Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor to UCSC. The event will be held at Classroom Unit 2. RSVPs are requested at:

Professor Taylor will address the history of African American studies, its connection to political struggle, and the significance of the recent College Board’s actions to remove units on intersectionality and activism, Black queer studies, “Black Feminist Literary Thought,” reparations, and “Black Study and the Black Struggle in the 21st Century” from the new Advanced Placement class in African American studies.

Dr. Taylor is a professor in the Department of African American Studies at Northwestern University and a scholar of racism and inequality, with a focus on U.S. housing policies. Taylor critiques public-private partnerships in public policymaking and the influence of market-based solutions in resolving trenchant social inequities. Taylor also studies radical politics and Black social movements in the 20th and 21st centuries. She is a contributing writer for The New Yorker and the author of three books, including the award-winning From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation and Race for Profit: How Banks and the Real Estate Industry Undermined Black Homeownership, which was a semifinalist for the National Book Award and a finalist for the 2020 Pulitzer Prize in History. 

Sponsors include:

Asian Pacific Student Alliance, Bayanihan, Black Student Union, MEChA, SANAI, Education for Sustainability Living Program, Student Environmental Center, Student Media Council, TWANAS, Vietnamese Student Association, African American Resource & Cultural Center, Asian-American Pacific Islander Resource Center, Cantu Center, Center for Racial Justice, Cultural Arts and Diversity Resource Center, El Centro, Institute for Social Transformation, Legal Students Program, Womxn’s Center, CoCurricular Programs Office, John R. Lewis College, Kresge College, and the departments of Anthropology, Community Studies, Critical Race & Ethnic Studies, Education, Latin American & Latino Studies, and Politics.