Ocean scientist Christina Ravelo awarded AGU’s Maurice Ewing Medal

Christina Ravelo
Christina Ravelo

The American Geophysical Union has awarded the 2022 Maurice Ewing Medal to Christina Ravelo, professor of ocean sciences at UC Santa Cruz. The Ewing Medal is given annually in recognition of significant original contributions to the ocean sciences and outstanding service to the marine sciences.

Ravelo’s research focuses on determining the role of ocean processes in past climate variability, including investigation of climate transitions, warm climate processes, and regional expressions of global climate change. She has made outstanding achievements and contributions in these areas, pushing forward the frontiers of ocean science.

The AGU also recognized her as having “embodied AGU’s shared vision of a thriving, sustainable, and equitable future for all powered by discovery, innovation, and action” and for doing this “with integrity, respect, diversity, and collaboration while creating deep engagement in education and outreach.”

Ravelo, who serves as associate dean for diversity, equity, and inclusion in UCSC’s Division of Physical and Biological Sciences, has also held leadership roles at the AGU, International Ocean Discovery Program, National Research Council, and National Science Foundation panels.

Ravelo earned her Ph.D. in geological sciences at Columbia University and joined the UCSC faculty in 1991. She is a fellow of the California Academy of Sciences and the AGU. In 2014, the Division of Physical and Biological Sciences awarded her its Outstanding Faculty Award.

Ravelo will be honored at the AGU’s annual Honors Ceremony and Banquet held on December 14 at the AGU Fall Meeting 2022 in Chicago.