Women's water polo team wins Division III championship

Photo of water polo team holding plaques
Portrait of Shelby Dinh
Shelby Dinh was named the 2022 Women’s Division III Club Championship Most Valuable Player.

The UC Santa Cruz women's water polo club won the Collegiate Water Polo Association Women’s Division III Club Championship in Middlebury, Vermont, on Sunday.

With a score of 8-6, the UC Santa Cruz Banana Slugs defeated the Bears of Washington University in St. Louis. Selma Malkic and Emma Adams both scored two goals, while Emma Laszlo, Sophia Sussman, Olivia Martinet, and Haley Marshall each contributed single goals. 

The Slugs were off to a strong start, scoring two goals in the first quarter. The third quarter ended with a tie after the Banana Slugs scored two more goals and the Bears scored five goals. The Slugs rallied in the final quarter, scoring three more goals to cement their victory. 

The championship marks the first women’s water polo club championship for UC Santa Cruz and the fourth overall Division III club crown in UC Santa Cruz history. The men’s club won championships in 2010 (vs. Monmouth College), 2013 (vs. Washington University in St. Louis), and tied with Washington University in St. Louis for the 2014 championship when a power failure at host Bowdoin College prevented the title game from occurring.

In addition to securing the 2022 national championship, Shelby Dinh received the tournament’s Most Valuable Player honor and six Banana Slugs were selected for the all-tournament team:

First team

  • Shelby Dinh/Haley Marshall (Goalie) 
  • Emma Laszlo 
  • Selma Malkic

Second team 

  • Olivia Martinet 
  • Ella Chabre