Representative Lofgren named 2021 ‘Champion of Science’

UC Santa Cruz and the UC system nominated Rep. Lofgren for the award, which recognizes her commitment to fundamental science research

U.S. Representative Zoe Lofgren

U.S. Representative Zoe Lofgren has been named a 2021 Champion of Science by the Science Coalition, a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization of more than 50 of the nation’s leading public and private research institutions. Rep. Lofgren joins this distinguished group of policymakers for her unwavering dedication to federal investment in scientific research during her more than 20 years in office.

“Rep. Lofgren’s consistent support for federal investment in scientific research helps to ensure that our nation’s research universities will continue as innovation leaders,” said UCSC Chancellor Cynthia Larive. “Her support of legislation to advance science and innovation and her leadership on reforming our nation’s immigration system are certainly deserving of the Champion of Science award.”

UC Santa Cruz and the University of California system nominated Rep. Lofgren for the award. As the Chair of the Committee on House Administration and a senior member of the House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, Rep. Lofgren has supported legislation to advance science and ensure a strong research workforce now and in the future, including the Scientific Integrity Act and Research Investment to Spark the Economy (RISE) Act.

“Rep. Lofgren is a true Champion of Science,” said John Latini, president of the Science Coalition. “As our nation’s researchers work tirelessly to combat the COVID-19 pandemic and protect their communities, Rep. Lofgren’s dedication to securing robust, predictable federal investment in fundamental science research meant the U.S. was better equipped to tackle the crisis. Her advocacy is supporting economic recovery, growing the STEM talent pipeline, and keeping the country at the forefront of discovery.”

Since 1999, more than 100 members of Congress have been recognized with the Champion of Science Award for their efforts to secure federal funding for fundamental scientific research through their voting records, bill sponsorships, letters of support, or other activities aimed at boosting scientific discovery. Awardees were selected both for their support of research institutions and their efforts to ensure fundamental scientific advancement across all disciplines.