Notice of new law prohibiting state funding of travel to certain states

On January 1, 2017, a new state law, AB 1887, took effect. As it applies to the university, it prohibits state funds from being used to pay for travel to a state that authorizes discrimination based on sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression; or voids or repeals existing state or local protections against such discrimination. State funds include any UCSC fund code in the 19900–19999 range.

Currently, the states of Kansas, Mississippi, North Carolina, and Tennessee are on the prohibited travel list maintained on the California State Attorney General Office's AB 1887 webpage. The webpage also outlines the exceptions under which state funds may be used to pay for travel to states on the prohibited travel list. Please be aware that non-state funds can be used to pay for travel to these states.

The law also prohibits UC from requiring employees to travel to the states on the Attorney General’s list, regardless of funding source. An employee may therefore decline to travel to one of the identified states, unless one of the statutory exceptions applies.