Chancellor names professors Haney and Strome as UC Presidential Chairs

Distinguished Professor Susan Strome of molecular, cell, and developmental biology. (Photos by Carolyn Lagattuta)
Distinguished Professor Craig Haney, of psychology and legal studies.

UC Santa Cruz Chancellor George Blumenthal has named professors Craig Haney and Susan Strome to three-year terms as UC Santa Cruz Presidential Chairs.

The designations run through June 30, 2018 and provide funds to develop undergraduate and graduate curriculum, and to support research and intellectual life through seminars, colloquia, and other events. Funding support is approximately $70,000 annually for three years.

Haney, the nation’s preeminent expert on criminal justice and the mental health impacts of incarceration, is distinguished professor of psychology and legal studies and has taught at UC Santa Cruz since 1977.

Strome is distinguished professor of molecular, cell, and developmental biology who joined UCSC in 2007. Strome's lab studies the development of germ cells, the cells that give rise to eggs and sperm.

The UC president supports Presidential Chairs on each of the 10 UC campuses through an endowment that the Regents established in 1981. The chairs are competitive, based on proposals, and are offered to distinguished faculty with the intention to encourage new or interdisciplinary programs development or to enhance quality in existing programs.