2014 Chancellor's Achievement Awards for Diversity

To: UCSC Community

From: Chancellor George Blumenthal

Unit Managers: Please post a paper copy of this message in your area for people who do not have regular computer access.

Each spring, it's an honor to present the Chancellor's Achievement Awards for Diversity to individuals and organizations that are contributing to our campus diversity goals. This year, students, faculty, and staff are among the recipients, and I had the pleasure of hosting a reception at University House this afternoon to recognize them.

Diversity builds community, enhances our day-to-day experiences at work and in the classroom, and contributes to the overall excellence of UC Santa Cruz. Like so many aspects of life, it takes a village, and I am grateful to the recipients of the 2014 Chancellor's Achievement Awards for Diversity for their contributions. They are:

• Wisdom Cole, undergraduate, Chemistry; Oakes College
• Hiroshi Fukurai, professor of Sociology
• Lesley-Reid Harrison, undergraduate, Feminist Studies and Sociology; College Ten
• Norma Klahn, professor of Literature
• Jill Naiman, graduate student, Astronomy and Astrophysics
• Madlyn Norman-Terrance, assistant manager, Employee and Labor Relations
• UCSC Women in Physics, Physics Department program

Please join me in congratulating all of the recipients.