Social Sciences division honors teaching, staff, and scholarship

Golden Apple award
Photos by Andrea Cohen
Marianna Santana and Andy Szasz
Marianna Santana, winner of the Social Sciences Division Outstanding Staff Award, and professor Andy Szasz, who presented it.
Cam Leaper and Gregory Gilbert
Professors Gregory Gilbert, right, winner of the Golden Apple teaching award, and presenter Cam Leaper.
Sheldon Kamieniecki and Carl Walsh.
Social Sciences Dean Sheldon Kamieniecki, left, and professor Carl Walsh, winner of the 2013 Martin M. Chemers Award for Outstanding Research.

Marianna Santana received the Outstanding Staff Award for 2012-2013 and Gregory Gilbert the Golden Apple teaching award Wednesday as the UC Santa Cruz Division of Social Sciences held its annual fall staff and faculty breakfast.

Santana has been with UCSC for 30 years and works in the politics and Latin American and Latino studies departments and with UCDC and legal studies. She received a $1,500 cash award and a plaque.

Gilbert, winner of the outstanding teaching award, is professor of environmental studies and director of SCWIBLES, the Santa Cruz-Watsonville Inquiry-Based Learning in Environmental Sciences program that brings UCSC graduate students into Pajaro Valley high schools. The award includes $2,500 cash and a golden apple trophy.

Carl Walsh, distinguished professor of economics, was named winner of the 2013 Martin M. Chemers Award for Outstanding Research. The award recognizes a senior faculty member whose research and scholarship has made a major impact on her or his discipline. He receives $2,500 and a crystal trophy.

Undergraduate and graduate students were awarded scholarships and award for outstanding teaching.  

Carson Watts (Oakes, '13, sociology) is winner of the 2013 Gabriel Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship that supports undergraduate students in the Division of Social Sciences who are committed to public service.  It is named for alumnus Gabe Zimmerman (Stevenson, 2002, sociology) who died in the January 2011 shooting that killed five others and wounded U.S. Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords.

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, D-San Francisco, presented the award via video recorded in Washington and arranged by professor Craig Reinarman, a member of the award selection committee.

The Weiss Family Scholarship was presented to Willy A. Diaz Tapia of College Ten, a sociology/social information and global entrepreneurship studies major. He received $2,200.

Thomas Gelder, sociology, received the Walsh Family Scholarship and received $2,000.

Graduate students Karina Cervantez, psychology, Christopher Limnios, economics, and Christian Palmer, anthropology, received Milam-McGinty-Kaun Awards for Excellence in Teaching. The award recognizes outstanding graduate student teaching assistants.