Appointment of Pat Goff as New Director for Environmental Health & Safety

To: UCSC Community

From: Jean Marie Scott Associate Vice Chancellor, BAS Risk and Safety Services

I am pleased to announce that as a result of a national recruitment and search, Pat Goff has been appointed to the position of Director of Environmental Health & Safety (EH&S).  Mr. Goff comes to UC Santa Cruz from UC Berkeley, where he has had a successful career in several related positions, and he brings with him 27 years of experience. He most recently served as Associate Director, Hazardous Materials and Radiation Safety at UC Berkeley and created a dangerous goods shipping program that is now a UC systemwide Center of Excellence.  In addition to his professional qualifications and certifications in his field, he also has a background in Mechanical Engineering.  Please join me in welcoming Pat; his first day will be January 28, 2013, and once he arrives he arrives on campus he can be reached at 459-5394.

The primary duties of the Director for the EH&S Department at UC Santa Cruz are to promote, facilitate, and provide expert consultation and direction for EH&S programs in support of both academic and non-academic campus functions.  The EH&S unit is responsible for monitoring compliance for all environmental, health and safety programs intended to minimize or prevent occupational injuries and illnesses in the workplace and to protect the quality of the surrounding environment.  EH&S advises the campus community of responsibilities with respect to health, safety and environmental issues; recommends appropriate corrective actions; and helps implement new health and safety programs.  EH&S also acts as liaison between UCSC and various external agencies and regulatory bodies, including coordination with the University of California Office of the President (UCOP) and other UC campuses.

I would like to thank the members of the Search Committee for their service. Members include:  Michelle Asire, Dan Blunk, Rebecca Braslau, Diane Lamotte, Marie Logan (chair), Barry Long, Jen Neal (staff), Jim Schoonover, and Saladin Sale. 

I would also like to thank all the campus constituents who took time out of their busy schedules to attend meetings with the finalists and provide input to the process.

Please contact me at or 459-3031 if you should have any questions.