Additional Honors

May 23, 2011

Mathematician Marvin Greenberg to receive Ford Award

The Mathematical Association of America will give its Lester R. Ford Award to Marvin Greenberg, professor emeritus of mathematics at UC Santa Cruz. The Ford Awards recognize authors of articles of expository excellence published in the American Mathematical Monthly. The awards are named for Lester R. Ford, Sr., a distinguished mathematician, editor of the American Mathematical Monthly from 1942 to 1946, and president of the Mathematical Association of America from 1947 to 1948. As many as five of the $500 awards are given annually at the summer meeting of the association. Greenberg is being recognized for his article "Old and New Results in the Foundations of Elementary Plane Euclidean and Non-Euclidean Geometries," published in 2010 (issue No. 3). He will receive the award at the MathFest Prize Ceremony on Friday, August 5, at the MAA meeting in Lexington, Kentucky.

January 31, 2011

Electrical engineer Peyman Milanfar wins IEEE Best Paper Award

Electrical engineer Peyman Milanfar and two of his former graduate students have received a 2010 Best Paper Award from the IEEE Signal Processing Society (IEEE is the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, the world' largest technical professional society). The award recognizes the exceptional merit of a paper they published in the February 2007 issue of IEEE Transactions on Image Processing. The paper, "Kernel Regression for Image Processing and Reconstruction," presented an advanced technique for image processing. The lead author, Hiroyuki Takeda, is now a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Michigan, and coauthor Sina Farsiu is now an assistant professor of biomedical engineering and ophthalmology at Duke University. Each of the three authors will receive a $500 prize and a certificate at an awards ceremony at the International Conference on Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing in May.

January 18, 2011

Anjali Arondekar wins Alan Bray Memorial Book Award

Associate professor of Feminist Studies Anjali Arondekar, author of For the Record: On Sexuality and the Colonial Archive in India (Duke University Press), has won this year's Alan Bray Memorial Book Award for best book in lesbian, gay, or queer studies in literature and cultural studies from the GL/Q Caucus of the Modern Language Association.

January 11, 2011

Astronomer Sandra Faber awarded honorary degree

Astronomer Sandra Faber was awarded an honorary Doctor of Science degree by the University of Michigan at the university's winter commencement ceremony on December 19, 2010. This is the fifth honorary doctoral degree awarded to Faber, who is a University Professor and chair of astronomy and astrophysics at UC Santa Cruz. The citation accompanying the degree read as follows: "Sandra Faber has led a life of discovery in the field of astronomy, particularly in regard to the formation and evolution of galaxies, distant galaxy clusters, and the large-scale structure of the universe. Her early research in the spectra of galaxies and stars led to the discovery of the ways orbital motion help discern the formation of galaxies, with the result that the 'Faber-Jackson relation' has become a foundation of the understanding of the origin of galaxies. Her research in the evolution of the structure of the universe also led to innovations of the technology used to explore space and matter, making her a leader in the development of astronomical facilities."