TiE Service Award recognizes UCSC entrepreneurship

At TiEcon 2011, Steve Bourdow, director of development for the Baskin School of Engineering, holds the TiE Service Award plaque awarded to UCSC for efforts to promote entrepreneurship. With Bourdow are (left to right) UCSC Foundation Trustee Kumar Malavalli; Shivaram Malavalli, chairman and managing director of eHealth TBI; and Darrell Long, Malavalli professor of storage systems research.

UC Santa Cruz was honored at the TiEcon 2011 conference in Silicon Valley last week with a TiE Service Award for efforts to promote entrepreneurship.

TiE, a not-for-profit global network of entrepreneurs and professionals, was founded in 1992 in Silicon Valley. TiEcon, its flagship event, is the largest professional conference for entrepreneurs. The organization's original name, The Indus Entrepreneurs, signifies the ethnic South Asian or Indus roots of the founders, and TiE also stands for talent, ideas, and enterprise, according to the TiE web site.