UC Santa Cruz social scientists honored for teaching, research

Undergraduate scholarship winner and graduate teaching assistants also honored

Professor of Economics Donald Wittman, left, won the 2010 Martin M. Chemers Award for outstanding research given by dean of the Social Sciences division, Sheldon Kamieniecki.
Flora Lu and Campbell Leaper won 2010 Golden Apple Awards for outstanding teaching.
Undergraduate Sarah Curtis, Latin American and Latino Studies, won the Walsh Family Scholarship presented by Carl Walsh.
Marilyn Chapin, left, and Jo Ann McFarland won outstanding staff achievement awards presented by David Kaun.
Winners received plaques and checks. (Photos by Guy Lasnier)

Three social scientists at UC Santa Cruz were honored for outstanding teaching and research Thursday, October 14 at the annual fall convocation breakfast hosted by dean of the Social Sciences division, Sheldon Kamieniecki.

Campbell Leaper, professor of psychology, and Flora Lu, assistant professor of Latin American and Latino Studies, shared the outstanding teaching award known as the Golden Apple and founded by the division in 1991.  They will split a cash prize of $2,500.

In his most recent work, Leaper, a developmental and social psychologist, has investigated when and why girls and young women become aware of sexism. Lu's recent work includes studies of the impact of indigenous peoples on the Amazonian jungle, especially when compared with colonists.

Economics professor Donald Wittman won the 2010 Martin M. Chemers Award for outstanding research given annually to a senior faculty member whose research and scholarship has made a major impact on his discipline. It carries a $2,500 prize.

Wittman uses tools of economics to explain myriad subjects including law, democratic politics, international relations, along with some purely economic issues, and some random topics as well, such as sports rules, theocracy, and family dynamics. His most recent book Oxford Handbook of Political Economy,  is being translated into Chinese. He joined the faculty in 1969.

Other awards bestowed at the breakfast were outstanding staff awards to department managers Marilyn Chapin, community studies and sociology,
and Jo Ann McFarland, economics.  Each received a plaque and $1,500. In presenting the awards, economics professor David Kaun lauded both women's skill and diplomacy in running offices during the past year of budget disruption.

Two graduate teaching assistants, Mahir Binici, in economics, and Cristie Boone, anthropology, received Milam-McGinty-Kaun Awards for Distinguished Teaching Each winner received $1,000.

Sarah Curtis, an undergraduate Latin American and Latino Studies major, received a $2,000 Walsh Family Scholarship presented by Carl Walsh, chair of the economics department. Curtis's winning essay described the joy and satisfaction she receives from teaching children.