Founders Celebration on October 22

To: UCSC Community

From: Chancellor Blumenthal

Since its opening 45 years ago, UC Santa Cruz has achieved real distinction as a place where excellence is defined by its people and programs.

On Friday, October 22, the campus's founding history and its leadership in marine science will be celebrated at UC Santa Cruz's fourth annual Founders Celebration. The theme of this celebratory day is "Decades of Discovery." Through the hard work, support, and accomplishments of the day's honorees, UC Santa Cruz has been able to build upon the dreams of the people who founded this extraordinary campus. It is my sincere hope that you can join me at these splendid events.

In the daytime, join us for the UCSC Foundation Forum: Report from the Gulf, a discussion of the status and implications of the recent gulf oil spill with guest lecturer and Foundation Medal recipient Jean-Michel Cousteau and NPR correspondent Richard Harris (see short bios on each below). The forum is 12-1:30 p.m. at the Rittenhouse Building in downtown Santa Cruz. The event is free, but tickets are required and limited in availability; go to to reserve tickets. Employees who wish to attend are encouraged to secure release time from managers and supervisors.

The dinner—to be held at the Cocoanut Grove on the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk—is open to the general public. The evening begins with a reception at 6:30 p.m., followed by dinner at 7:30 p.m. For additional details and ticket information, please go to or call UCSC's Special Events Office at (831) 459-5003.

The 2010 Founders Celebration honorees are listed below:

• Richard Harris will receive the UCSC Alumni Association's annual Alumni Achievement Award. A 1980 graduate of Crown College, he is an award-winning journalist reporting on science issues for NPR. Harris has traveled to the ends of the Earth for NPR, reporting from Timbuktu, the South Pole, the Galapagos Islands, Beijing, Greenland, the Amazon rain forest, and Mt. Kilimanjaro. He recently covered the Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico.

p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt; font-size: 14pt; font-family: "Times New Roman"; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; }

• The S. H. Cowell Foundation will receive the Fiat Lux Award. This award is given by the UC Santa Cruz Foundation to alumni and friends who have demonstrated outstanding achievement, dedication, and service in support of the university's programs and goals. The foundation is being honored for the seminal role the Cowell family played in the founding of UC Santa Cruz and recognized for its legacy of charitable support.

• Paul Whitworth will be honored as UCSC's Faculty Research Lecturer for 2010-11. This award is the foremost academic research honor bestowed by UCSC's Academic Senate. A professor of Theatre Arts, a professional theater actor and director, as well as artistic director of Shakespeare Santa Cruz, Whitworth will be honored for his extensive experience in the performance of the plays of Shakespeare.

• Jean-Michel Cousteau will receive the UC Santa Cruz Foundation Medal, which recognizes individuals of exceptionally distinguished achievement whose work and contributions to society illustrate the ideals of UC Santa Cruz. Cousteau, son of famed ocean explorer Jacques Cousteau, will be honored for his investigation of the world's oceans.

For more information, visit

I am sure you will agree that this year's honorees are very deserving of our appreciation and our recognition. I hope to see you there.