Advocacy Essay Contest Winners Announced

To: UCSC Community

From: Ricki Carr, Staff Advisory Board Chair, Melissa Whatley, Assistant Director Government Relations

The Staff and Advisory Board and Government Relations are pleased to announce the 3 winners of the Advocacy Essay Contest

They are:

Computing Director Kenneth Garges from ITS

Senior Lecturer Don Rothman from the Writing Program

Undergraduate Sarah Ross

The winners will each receive a $75.00 gift certificate to the Bay Tree Bookstore and will get to have lunch with Assemblyman Bill Monning.

To view the winning essays go to and click on the essay links.

Congratulations to these winners and thank you to all the other participants in the contest. It is wonderful to see such creative outlooks on the tough times we have all been facing.