Psychology faculty honored by American Psychological Association

Two psychology faculty members have received major recognition by divisions of the American Psychological Association (APA), the largest organization for psychologists. Each will receive their awards and deliver an address at the annual APA meetings in San Diego, August 12-15.

Emeritus Professor Thomas F. Pettigrew received the 2010 Ralph K. White Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society for the Study of Peace, Conflict and Violence, a division of the APA.

Pettigrew is an internationally renowned expert on racism and intergroup relations who has been a leader in social psychology for more than 50 years. A year ago he received the University of California's 2008-2009 Constantine Panunzio Distinguished Emeriti Award.

Psychology department chair Avril Thorne received the 2010 Henry A. Murray Award for the Study of Lives from another APA division, the Society for Personality and Social Psychology. Thorne's research looks at the development of a sense of self and identity in the context of telling one's life to others, especially to family members and friends.