Search for Campus Provost/EVC

To: UCSC Community

From: Chancellor Blumenthal

I write to update you on the search for a successor to Campus Provost/Executive Vice Chancellor David Kliger. I have authorized a UC-wide search and the establishment of a nine-member search committee, chaired by Professor David Evans Jones and staffed by Assistant Chancellor/Chief of Staff Ashish Sahni. My goal is to have a successor in place on July 1.

Members of the search committee are:

* David Evan Jones, professor of music (

* Paul Koch, professor of Earth and planetary sciences (

* Kirk Lew, assistant vice chancellor for financial affairs (

* Charles McDowell, professor of computer science (

* Donna Murphy, vice chancellor for University Relations (

* Matthew Palm, undergraduate member of the Student Union Assembly (

* Georges Van Den Abbeele, dean of humanities (

* Pat Zavella, professor of Latin American and Latino studies (

* Charlotte Zeamer, representative of the Graduate Student Association (

The CP/EVC plays a critical role on campus, and I want to thank committee members in advance for their service. I also want to enlist your assistance in building the strongest possible pool of applicants. Please contact any member of the search committee, or Assistant Chancellor Sahni (, to ask questions, make suggestions, or put forward names of prospective candidates.

The job announcement and other updates will be posted soon at:

The committee will begin reviewing applications April 1. The campus community will have opportunities to interact with finalists during campus visits, which are expected to take place in early May. Details about those opportunities will be announced by the search committee.

Finding a successor to Dave Kliger, who will have served as CP/EVC for more than five years when he steps down June 30, is a difficult task. I want to thank Dave once again for his outstanding service and also express my confidence that the outcome of the search process will make us proud.