Academic Senate presents 2007-08 Excellence in Teaching Awards

Left to right: Walter Campbell, Tandy Beal, Chancellor Blumenthal, Daniel Palleros, COT Chair Elisabeth Cameron (not pictured: Wesley Mackey, Pascale Garaud, and Jennifer Parker)

The Academic Senate Committee on Teaching has announced the recipients of the 2007-08 Excellence in Teaching Awards. This distinction is awarded each spring to UCSC faculty who have demonstrated exemplary and inspiring teaching. In selecting awardees, the committee considers nomination letters written by students, as well as statements submitted by the nominee and his or her department chair. The committee looks for evidence that the nominee has thought deeply about teaching and learning, and effectively applies that thinking in the classroom.

In addition to the Excellence in Teaching Awards, the committee selects the recipient of the Ron Ruby Award for Teaching Excellence in the Division of Physical and Biological Sciences. Also recognized for teaching is the 2008 UCSC nominee for the U.S. Professor of the Year award, Ana Maria Seara of the Language Program.

This year's teaching awards were presented by Chancellor Blumenthal and Committee on Teaching Chair Elisabeth Cameron on May 28 at University House. Their names will also be announced during the final Academic Senate meeting of 2008.

Award winners

  • Tandy Beal, Theater Arts

  • Walter Campbell, Language Program

  • Pascale Garaud, Applied Mathematics & Statistics

  • Wesley Mackey, Computer Science

  • Jennifer Parker, Art

  • Daniel R. Palleros, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Ron Ruby Award for Teaching Excellence in the Division of Physical & Biological Sciences