UC Santa Cruz awards $20,000 Pister scholarships to 11 community college transfer students

Former chancellor Karl S. Pister established the scholarship program in 1993 to help the most promising students from regional community colleges transfer to UCSC

The University of California, Santa Cruz, has awarded scholarships to 11 community college transfer students who will enroll at UCSC this fall as recipients of Karl S. Pister Leadership Opportunity Awards.

The $20,000 scholarships were established to help the most promising students from regional community colleges transfer to UCSC. The students will receive a $10,000 scholarship for each of two years, plus the support of a strong academic mentoring program and help finding paid summer work experience in a field that complements their studies.

"We are delighted and honored to welcome these students to our campus," said UCSC Chancellor George Blumenthal. "Pister scholars are exceptionally dedicated students and their life experience and achievements significantly enrich the campus community."

The Pister scholarship program honors students who have made a demonstrated commitment to assisting and improving the lives of others, who have overcome adverse socioeconomic circumstances, and who might not otherwise be able to attend UCSC for financial reasons.

Candidates for the awards are nominated by the presidents of each of 13 regional community colleges, and recipients are selected by the UCSC chancellor in consultation with the Leadership Opportunity Awards Program Screening Committee. The program was created by former UCSC Chancellor Karl S. Pister in 1993.

A list of the 2008 recipients follows, with hometown and college affiliations. For more information about the scholarship program or the recipients, contact the UCSC Public Information Office at (831) 459-2495.

2008 Pister Scholars:

. Rochelle David, Aptos; Cabrillo College

. Stefan Anderson, Los Gatos; De Anza College

. Michelle Romero, Newark; Foothill College

. Cynthia Cruz, Redwood City, CaƱada College

. Christine Caneda, San Jose; Evergreen/Mission Colleges

. Frances Soto, Hollister; Gavilan College

. Ricardo Fernandez, Marina; Hartnell College

. Lourdes Cisneros, Milpitas; Mission College

. Miguel Corres, Salinas; Monterey Peninsula College

. Nicole LaRoche, Daily City; Skyline College

. Sarah Duhart, San Jose; West Valley College