Academic Senate announces 2005-06 Excellence in Teaching Awards

Seven faculty members and 10 teaching assistants have been honored with 2005-06 Excellence in Teaching Awards for their exemplary and inspiring teaching.

Selected by the UCSC Academic Senate Committee on Teaching and the Graduate Council, the winners of the 2005-06 Excellence in Teaching Awards awards were recognized by Chancellor Denice D. Denton and Committee on Teaching Chair Charles McDowell on May 24 at the University Center.

Nominations for the award are submitted by students, and the committee also reads a statement on teaching written by the nominee, as well as a letter from the department chair. The committee looks for evidence that the nominee has thought deeply about teaching and learning, and effectively applies that thinking in the classroom.

Faculty winners are Martin A. Berger, history of art and visual culture; Ruth Hoffman, College Nine; John Isbister, economics; Dean Mathiowetz, politics; Kenneth Pedrotti, electrical engineering; and Ana Maria Camargo Seara, language studies and Language Program. In addition, Hilde Schwartz, Earth sciences, received the Ron Ruby Award for Teaching Excellence in the Division of Physical and Biological Sciences.

Graduate student award winners are Vincent Bonini, mathematics; Chris Dixon, history of consciousness; James Isaacs, linguistics; Paul Ralifo, chemistry; Abhijit SenGupta, economics; Mrinal Sinha, psychology; Adam Smith, computer science; Heather Turcotte, politics; Nicolas Winter, chemistry; Megan Yost; psychology.

The awards include $500 in cash for faculty members and $200 for graduate students.