Three UCSC professors and two graduate students honored for teaching

SANTA CRUZ, CA--Three professors and two graduate students at the University of California, Santa Cruz, were honored for their teaching today (Thursday, September 29).

The Division of Social Sciences presented the division's Distinguished Teaching Award, known as the "Golden Apple Award," during the dean's annual fall convocation. The awards recognize outstanding undergraduate teaching in the social sciences; each award carries with it a $500 cash prize and an engraved plaque. Recipients are:

. Barbara Rogoff, professor of psychology

. Eva Bertram, assistant professor of politics

. Triloki Pandey, professor of anthropology

"At UCSC, we pride ourselves on the quality of instruction we offer, and these awards recognize some of the best teachers we have," said Michael Hutchison, interim dean of the Social Sciences Division.

Rogoff, a leading developmental psychologist, has spent more than 25 years exploring how children learn. Her work has helped illuminate the extent to which notions of human development are culturally defined. Bertram specializes in American politics, including welfare and social policy, the politics of work, and drug-control policy. Pandey's areas of research include the religion and politics of the Pueblo Indians of the American Southwest and the tribal peoples of Himalayan Terai and northeast India.

The Golden Apple Award is presented annually to as many as three faculty members. The recipients were selected by Hutchison from a list of recommendations compiled by a faculty committee based on nominations put forth by department chairs. The committee is chaired by Daniel Press, a professor of environmental studies. The annual awards were established in 1991.

In addition, recipients of the 2005 Milam-McGinty-Kaun Award for Distinguished Teaching by graduate students were announced. Recipients are:

. Kuntal Das, a doctoral candidate in economics

. Paul Held, a doctoral student in politics

Named after David Kaun, the professor of economics who endowed the award, and the first recipients, Garrett Milam and Matt McGinty, the award honors graduate students in the fields of anthropology, economics, education, environmental studies, politics, psychology, and sociology. Each year, one recipient from economics and one student in another field receive $1,000 each.

Kaun established the award in 2000 with a $50,000 gift to the campus. Milam and McGinty were teaching assistants in Kaun's Intermediate Microeconomic Theory course.