MEDIA ADVISORY: Media tours and interviews available prior to dedication ceremonies for Engineering 2 Building

The Engineering 2 Building on the UC Santa Cruz campus will be dedicated on the afternoon of Friday, November 5, with ceremonies including UC President Robert C. Dynes and State Senator Bruce McPherson starting at 3 p.m. Tours of the building and interview opportunities for reporters have been scheduled for earlier in the day.

When: 11 a.m. to noon on Friday, November 5

Where: Simularium Hall, Engineering 2 (first floor, enter from the courtyard)

Who: The following people will be available for interviews:

. Steve Kang, Dean of the Baskin School of Engineering, UCSC

. Michael Isaacson, Kapany Professor of Optoelectronics and Associate Dean of Research and

Graduate Studies, Baskin School of Engineering, UCSC

. Darrell Long, Professor of Computer Science

. Patrick Mantey, Baskin Professor of Computer Engineering and UCSC Director of the Center for Information Technology Research in the Interest of Society (CITRIS)

Details: The new Engineering 2 Building has added 150,000 square feet of new office, laboratory, and classroom space on the UCSC campus, primarily for the Baskin School of Engineering. The project also includes the new Jack Baskin Engineering Auditorium, a 212-seat lecture hall. The building includes facilities for two California Institutes for Science and Innovation: The Institute for Quantitative Biomedical Research (QB3) and the Center for Information Technology Research in the Interest of Society (CITRIS). The Simularium Hall is a 100-seat experimental classroom the CITRIS program will use for research on the use of technology in education.

Dedication ceremonies for the new building will include UC President Robert C. Dynes, Acting Chancellor Martin M. Chemers, Engineering Dean Steve Kang, Interim Dean of Social Sciences Michael Hutchison, and UC Provost and former UCSC Chancellor M.R.C. Greenwood.

RSVP: If you plan to attend, please contact Tim Stephens in the UCSC Public Information Office at (831) 459-4352 or, for directions and parking permits.