Excellence in Teaching Award winners announced

Eight faculty members have received 2003-04 Excellence in Teaching Awards from the Academic Senate Committee on Teaching. Given each spring, the awards honor those who have demonstrated exemplary and inspiring teaching. Nominations are submitted by students, and the committee also reads a statement on teaching written by the nominee, as well as a letter from the department chair. The committee looks for evidence that the nominee has thought deeply about teaching and learning, and effectively applies that thinking in the classroom.

This year's awards were presented by Acting Chancellor Martin M. Chemers and Committee on Teaching Chair Judith Habicht-Mauche on May 28 at University House. The names of recipients were announced during the final Academic Senate meeting of 2004 on May 21. The awards include $500 in cash.

The winners, followed by the text on their certificates, are:

Manuel Ares Jr., molecular, cell, and developmental biology, "for commitment and innovation in teaching biology, for involving students in the excitement of research, for encouraging them to learn not only the known, but also the unknown."

Gildas Hamel, languages, "for inspiring and creative teaching of languages, for a lively and engaging classroom where all actively participate in learning, for enthusiasm, breadth of knowledge, and dedication to students."

Kevin Karplus, biomolecular engineering, "for innovation in teaching computer engineering and biomolecular engineering, for challenging problems, question-driven lectures, and enthusiasm for the subject, for high standards and dedication to student success."

Jenny Keller, science communication, "for extraordinary teaching of science illustration, for creating a collaborative classroom where students learn from one another, for offering discipline, mentorship, insight, and encouragement."

Peter Kenez, history, "for many years of unforgettable teaching in history, for thought-provoking discussions and scholarly lectures, for educating through wit, encouragement, and high expectations."

Anatole Leikin, music, "for extraordinary dedication in the teaching of music, for rigorous courses that integrate skills, musicianship, and theory, for patience and humor, and for inspiring the highest level of accomplishment from each student."

Anthony Pratkanis, psychology, "for enthusiastic and effective teaching of social psychology, for telling stories, asking questions, and encouraging research, for working alongside students to discover new things."

Peter Young, physics, "for exceptional effectiveness in teaching physics, for presenting difficult subjects with depth, rare clarity, and excellent timing, for offering students extra help when needed, and intellectual respect at all times."

In addition to the faculty awards, 10 graduate students at UCSC have received the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award. Award-winners, who receive $200 each, are nominated by faculty members and selected by the Graduate Council.

Graduate students receiving teaching awards and their majors are: Corey Capers, history of consciousness; Peter Koht, music; Vera Lee-Schoenfeld, linguistics; Micah Lubensky, psychology; Christie Rowe, Earth sciences; John Mason, physics; Laura Sabattini, psychology; Clare Brown Sears, sociology; Mark Slater, computer science; and Emily Woomer, literature.