UCSC Academic Senate announces 2002-03 Excellence in Teaching Awards

Ten faculty members and 12 graduate students have received Excellence in Teaching Awards for 2002-03. Winners of the awards, for those who have demonstrated exemplary and inspiring teaching, were selected by the UCSC Academic Senate Committee on Teaching.

Nominations for the annual honor are submitted by students, and the committee also reads a statement on teaching written by the nominee, as well as a letter from the department chair. The committee looks for evidence that the nominee has thought deeply about teaching and learning, and effectively applies that thinking in the classroom.

"The winners of these awards have shown outstanding dedication to their disciplines and to their students," UCSC Chancellor M.R.C. Greenwood said. "They truly represent the UCSC commitment to high-quality teaching, and we appreciate them."

Chancellor Greenwood and Committee on Teaching Chair Judith Habicht-Mauche presented this year's awards on May 23 at University House. Their names were also announced during the final Academic Senate meeting of the 2002-03 academic year on May 16.

The winners, with the text on their certificates, are:

  • Margaret Brose, literature, "for passionate and scholarly teaching of Italian literature, for outstanding lectures, openness to questions, and support of students, for guiding her classes on an intellectual journey."

  • Ann Caudle, science illustration, "for outstanding teaching in the field of science illustration, for offering encouragement and expert advice, for approaching her teaching with determination, wisdom, hard work, humor, and talent."

  • Nancy Chen, anthropology, "for exceptional dedication in the teaching of anthropology, for enthusiasm, openness, and the ability to listen, for motivating students to challenge themselves."

  • Sandra Chung, linguistics and philosophy, "for creative and engaging teaching in linguistics and philosophy, for courses that are challenging, superbly structured, and entertaining, for making the process of discovery exciting."

  • Melanie DuPuis, sociology, "for clarity, creativity and sensitivity in teaching sociology, for bringing humor and enthusiasm to her classroom, for encouraging students to stretch their intellects and ask new questions."

  • Lori Kletzer, economics, "for unbridled enthusiasm in teaching economics, for inspiring students through active learning and real world connections, for clarity in communication, deep knowledge of her subject, and respect for students."

  • Marc Mangel, applied math and statistics, "for challenging, imaginative teaching of environmental studies and statistics, for making complex material engaging and understandable, for patience, encouragement, and for bringing an enthusiasm for biology and for life to his teaching."

  • Wendy Martyna, sociology, "for bringing passion and purpose to the teaching of sociology, for thought-provoking lectures that connect the classroom with students' lives, for compassion for students and commitment to the ideas she teaches."

  • Bruce Schumm, physics, "for stimulating and challenging teaching in physics, for diligent preparation, clear presentation, and openness to new approaches, for going the extra mile for his students."

  • Eugene Switkes, chemistry, "for exceptional effectiveness in the teaching of chemistry, for making difficult classes fun, interesting and relevant, for excitement in sharing with students the unanswered questions."

Graduate students receiving teaching awards and their majors were: Jamey Bass, math; Alexis Chaine, biology (ecology and evolutionary biology); Kyle Eischen, sociology; Rob Halpern, literature; Anya Hogoboom, linguistics; Yothin Jinjarak, economics; Lynne Maes; literature; Kate McLean, psychology; Aaron Nilsen, chemistry; Stuart Norton, computer science; Sirida Srisombati, history of consciousness; Greg Stock, Earth sciences.