Nominations for UC Santa Cruz's Outstanding Staff Award

To: UC Santa Cruz Faculty and Staff

From: UC Santa Cruz Staff Advisory Board and UC Santa Cruz Alumni Association

Do you know a UC Santa Cruz staff member who: 

  • Goes "above and beyond" to provide distinguished service to students, staff, and/or faculty colleagues?

  • Works to grow and improve programs on campus?

  • Contributes to UC Santa Cruz's unique intellectual and physical environment?


If so, please help us honor UC Santa Cruz's outstanding staff and make your nomination for the Outstanding Staff Award today. The submission deadline is Sunday, June 6, 2021, at 11:59 p.m. (PDT).

Questions? Contact the Staff Advisory Board via email at

The following comprise just a few of the thousands of UC Santa Cruz staff members who work to change the lives of students every day on our campus and who keep UC Santa Cruz an uncommon place.

Past recipients

2019-20 Yulianna Ortega, STEM Diversity Programs director, Physical & Biological Sciences Division

2018-19  Stacey Sketo-Rosener, Assistant Vice Provost for Undergraduate Advising

2017-18 Judy Scarborough, Academic Personnel Manager for the Division of Undergraduate Education

2016-17 Irena Polić, Managing Director, The Humanities Institute

2015-16 Jan Cloud, Assistant Dean, Arts Division  

2014-15 Wendy Baxter, Co-curricular Program Director, Colleges Nine and Ten

2013-14 Margie Claxton, Associate Registrar, Office of the Registrar

2012-13 Elaine Kihara, Academic Preceptor, Oakes College

2011-12 Anne Callahan, Academic Human Resources Manager, Humanities Division

2010-11 Michael McCawley, Associate Director, Admissions

2009-10 Tanya Honig, Manager, Department of Linguistics 

2008-09 Rosie Cabrera, Director of El Centro, UCSC's Chicano/Latino student resource center

2007-08 Bob Hastings, Director of Current Students Services, Division of Graduate Studies

2006-07 Lynne Wolcott, Academic Adviser at Cowell, 1981-2006; Since 2006, campus Coordinator for Academic Advising

2005-06 Corinne Miller, Director, Services to Transfer and Re-Entry Students (STARS)

2004-05 Cheryl Perazzo, Scholarships Advisor, Financial Aid Office

2003-04 Carol Douglas-Hammer, Assistant Director for University Housing Services

2002-03 Joseph Weiss, Technical Production director and Operations Manager for the Theater Arts Department

2001-02 Betsy Wootten, Faculty Services Supervisor, Kresge College

2000-01 David Kirk, Media Specialist, McHenry Library

1999-00 Nicolette Czarrunchick (Kresge '93, Women's Studies), Manager, Women's Studies Department

1998-99 Pam Lawson, Manager, Literature Department

1997-88 Angie Christmann, College Programs Coordinator, Cowell College

1996-97 Brenda Brown, Academic Advisor, Crown College

1995-96 Susan F. Curtis, Administrative Manager, Board of Studies in Sociology

For more information visit the Staff Advisory Board website.

As a reminder, for nominees to be eligible they must be an active UC Santa Cruz staff member. Faculty and student employees are not eligible.