Professor J.J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves elected to Mexican Academy of Sciences

Computer engineering professor Garcia-Luna-Aceves is the second faculty member at UC Santa Cruz elected to the Mexican Academy of Sciences

J.J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves
J.J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves

UC Santa Cruz professor J.J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves has been elected a corresponding member of the Mexican Academy of Sciences. Garcia-Luna-Aceves is the Baskin Professor of Computer Engineering and chair of the Department of Computer Engineering at UCSC's Baskin School of Engineering.

The Mexican Academy of Sciences, founded in 1959, brings together distinguished researchers in all areas of science. Corresponding members are active researchers outside of Mexico who are recognized for achievement in their disciplines and for their contributions to the development of science in Mexico. Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz, professor of astronomy and astrophysics at UCSC, was named a corresponding member in 2010.

Garcia-Luna-Aceves directs the Computer Communication Research Group and the Network Sciences Institute at UCSC. He is also a principal scientist at the Palo Alto Research Center (PARC).

Garcia-Luna-Aceves has played a leading role in efforts to advance the science of wireless networks. A fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), he has received two IEEE technical achievement awards, in 2012 "for fundamental contributions to the theory and design of communication protocols for routing and channel access in ad-hoc wireless networks," and in 2011 "for pioneering contributions to the theory and design of communication protocols for ad-hoc wireless networks." He is also a fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Garcia-Luna-Aceves received a B.S. degree in electrical engineering from the Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico City, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Hawaii at Manoa, in Honolulu. He joined the UCSC faculty in 1993.