Letter from President Yudof and UC chancellors

To: UCSC Community

From: President Yudof and UC Chancellors

We write today to the entire University of California community — students and their families, faculty and staff, alumni and friends — to express our relief and gratitude that the voters of California have approved Proposition 30. We are especially grateful for the Academic Senate Memorial on UC funding, and to Chair Sherry Lansing and the UC Regents for publicly endorsing this proposition. The Regents' endorsement, along with those of other public higher education sectors, gave the proposition much-needed visibility and momentum statewide.

The passage of Governor Brown's budget initiative has created an opportunity to bring stability to the funding of public higher education in California. The task ahead of us now is to do everything possible to strengthen the capacity of the University to serve people in every part of the state through academic excellence and public service.

Many of you worked hard to spread the word about Proposition 30. This is particularly true of students, who both registered tens of thousands of new voters and lobbied broadly on behalf of Proposition 30. As a public institution, we weren't allowed by law to advocate for how people should vote, but together we shared why Proposition 30 was of paramount importance to the University of California. It is clear that our message resonated.

While there is much more work ahead of us, we are confident that this success will pave the way to a more stable future for the University of California, and to a brighter future for the state of California.

President Mark G. Yudof
University of California

Chancellor Robert J. Birgeneau
University of California, Berkeley

Chancellor Gene Block
University of California, Los Angeles

Chancellor George R. Blumenthal
University of California, Santa Cruz

Chancellor Michael Drake
University of California, Irvine

Chancellor Susan Desmond-Hellmann
University of California, San Francisco

Chancellor Linda Katehi
University of California, Davis

Chancellor Pradeep Khosla
University of California, San Diego

Chancellor Dorothy Leland
University of California, Merced

Chancellor Timothy P. White
University of California, Riverside

Chancellor Henry T. Yang
University of California, Santa Barbara